A Day in the Life of a PGY3 Psychiatry Resident: Isabel Ross,MD

A Day in the Life of a third-year Psychiatry Resident: Isabel Ross

My background
My name is Isabel Ross, and I am currently a 3rd year resident here at Duke. I was born in Barranquilla, Colombia (where Shakira is from!) and moved to the US with my family when I was three. I’ve lived in Tennessee, Utah, the Philippines, California, New Mexico and Florida. I went to undergrad and medical school at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque, NM. I studied Biology and Spanish in undergrad and am fluent in Spanish.

 

Why I chose Duke
I chose to come to Duke because I liked North Carolina and I liked the balance of excellent biological psychiatry and therapy training.

 

My Schedule
As a third year, my schedule is quite nice! I work Monday-Friday from 8-5 at a few different outpatient clinics (VA clinic, Duke clinic, downtown Spanish speaking clinic and an ACT team). I am typically home by 6:00 or 6:30 after wrapping up with my notes for the day. I get most weekends off, except for some scattered calls throughout the year.

 

Where I live 
I live in the research triangle park area which is ideal for accessing Raleigh, Chapel Hill and Durham. There are tons on great shopping areas and restaurants just a few minutes from my house. I love my rental and found a ton of affordable, modern and safe housing options in the area. If you move here, I can refer you to a great hairstylist, mechanic and dance/yoga studio. We hope to see you here next year!

 

My favorite Triangle-area restaurant
With most of my weekends free I fill my time by spending time with my husband, dog and friends. I love going to the movies and trying out new restaurants. I’ve found great restaurants just by buying local groupons.

 

end fo content area