A Day in the Life of a PGY1 Psychiatry Resident: Allie Thomas-Fannin, MD

A Day in the Life of a first-year Psychiatry Resident: Allie Thomas-Fannin

My background
I was born in Louisville KY and lived in different parts of the state before leaving to attend Haverford College in PA where I got a degree in Political Science with focus on public policy and American Studies.  After graduation, after deciding Law school wasn’t for me because “Ugg,” decided to become a nurse.  I started at Austin Peay State University in Clarksville TN, just over the border from Hopkinsville KY where my family was, with pre-nursing courses.  I then fell in love with science! I decided to go to med school instead.  I graduated with a BS in biology and minor in chemistry.  During this time, I met my husband in a Spanish class I took on a whim, got married…yada, yada. The two of us moved to Louisville so I could go to medical school at U of L.  My husband was an EMT and continued with his college courses.  We had our daughter at the beginning of my 4th year and moved to Duke after deciding psychiatry was the right thing for me.

   

Why I chose Duke
Flexibility in scheduling 3rd and 4th years.  Opportunities in whatever I decide to be interested in.  Three different sites for inpatient work plus research if I so choose.  Strong psychotherapy training without sacrificing biological aspects of psychiatry.  Many Many Many electives for 3rd and 4th year including ECT.  Also Dr. Thrall is one of the most energetic awesome and honest program directors out there.  Most programs make you think they have no flaws, but here everyone was honest and made me feel more confident in what I was getting into. 

 

My schedule
I wake up around 6:00 – 6:30 a.m. while on the Williams Ward and make it in to work around 7:00 a.m.  I pre round on patients then go to Treatment Team.  Then some rounding and teaching with my attending, then daily work. I have time to go to conferences on Mondays and Tuesdays, and usually afternoons are reserved for finishing work, admitting new patients, or meetings with families.  I finish up between 5:00-7:00 p.m. and then go home (or residency council meeting once a month) for dinner with my family.  I play with my toddler until she goes to bed round 9:00 p.m., hang out with my husband, who’s been busy keeping the house in order and the child safe from acting on some of her hypofrontal judgment all day, chill with a computer game and go to bed between 11:00 p.m. and midnight.  On Thursdays I go to academic half day in the morning (after I get to sleep in an hour longer) where I learn all sorts of cool stuff about being a great psychiatrist before returning for work.  I also take my daughter to a parent child gym class at the Little Gym here in Durham for some quality time.  On days off, I usually do family stuff with my kid/husband, and about half the rotations have full weekends off!  This year we went to a farm with a pumpkin patch, corn maze, corn crib, play areas and hay ride, and rode the Santa Train.  I'm also a member of the Durham Museum of Life and Science, which has a plethora of activities to keep a toddler interested.  I also sometimes troll around the South Point Mall with my kid in a stroller, though I'm beginning to understand that whole "kid leash" thing.

 

Where I live 
We own a house in North Durham.  The Eno River state park IS my backyard... my toddler tries to talk to the deer and turkey who eat the grass (this is generally unsuccessful as she can barely speak human let alone deer).  Also hiking trails and swimming!


My favorite Triangle-area restaurant

COOKOUT- Awesome burgers and like 30 different varieties of shake.  Also- Watts Grocery- everything is good.

Other interesting facts, tidbits, miscellaneous
Come to Duke... Dr. Thrall makes awesome coffee cake!

end fo content area